SEPA payments and Brexit

The United Kingdom is formally no longer an EU member state, but has been considered by the EPC (European Payments Council) to be an EU country in the SEPA context until 31. December 2020.

From 1. January 2021, this will cease, and the usual SEPA SCT / SDD rules for non-EU member states will thus apply.

Bits hereby reminds that all banks must include the full address of the Payer, both on SCT transactions (SEPA Credit Transfer) and SDD transactions (SEPA Direct Debit) when a UK-based SEPA payment scheme participant is involved from 1. January 2021 .

We also refer to information on the EPC’s website on the topic:

Any questions can be directed to Morten Krøgenes ( or Hanne Sandernes (